How to Start Homeschooling in North Dakota
As a result of COVID-19, homeschooling is on the rise. For some, this is a short-term arrangement, and others have discovered that homeschooling is perfect for their family. In case you don’t know, homeschooling is simply the practice of educating your kids from home. Some families choose to collaborate through homeschooling cooperatives and extracurricular leagues to enrich the home school experience.
Homeschooling is legal in all 50 states, including the District of Columbia. When exploring the homeschooling route, please be aware that the laws and policies that govern homeschooling differ by state. If you wonder if homeschooling is a good fit for your family, you probably have questions about how to begin the process and what resources are available. Because of this, we created a series entitled, How to Start Homeschooling. In each installment, we will discuss homeschooling rules and resources for each state. In today’s installment, we will discuss homeschooling in North Dakota.
What you need to know:
- North Dakota Homeschool Law requires you to submit a Statement of Intent to your local district’s superintendent 14 days before homeschooling begins.
- If you need to remove your kid, you should contact your kid’s school to remove them before starting homeschooling officially. Ask if they have any particular forms for you to fill out.
- Homeschool teachers must posess a high school diploma or GED.
- Homeschool learners must be taught a minimum of 4 hours per day for 175 days per year.
- Elementary and middle school level learners must be taught six academic subjects: English, mathematics, social studies, science, physical education, and health.
- High school level learners must be taught ten academic subjects: English, mathematics, science, social studies, health, physical education, fine arts, foreign language, career, technical education, and an advanced placement class.
- You are required to keep records of any classes your kid takes, your kid’s progress assessment, and your kid’s test results.
- North Dakota homeschool learners must participate in standardized testing in grades 4, 6, 8, and 10.
- If you re-enroll your kid in a public school, you must submit record-keeping documentation to your school superintendent.
You can also check out the North Dakota Department of Public Instruction – Homeschooling, Home School Legal Defense Association – North Dakota, and the North Dakota Home School Association.