3 Steps to Becoming a Teacher in Nevada
Want to become a teacher in the great state of Nevada? If so, you have come to the right place. Below you will find a short article that lists the steps to becoming a teacher in Nevada.
Step 1: Complete an Approved Teacher Preparation Program
To teach in the U.S., educators must hold at least an undergraduate degree. The state of Nevada also requires students to complete a state-approved teacher education program to receive certification. In Nevada, every field or subject area has its own special requirements.
Teacher education programs generally consist of two elements—curriculum and field experiences. Curriculum typically includes instruction on teaching foundational skills, pedagogy (the science of teaching), and preparing students to research, create, and implement learning experiences in their field of study. Field experiences often include field observations, internships, student teaching, or a combination of all three. A list of approved teacher education programs in Nevada can be accessed on the U.S. Department of Education Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs.
Step 2: Complete the Required Exams
Potential Nevada teachers must pass the Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators exams for basic skills, the Praxis II: Subject Exams in their specialty area, plus Praxis II PLT (Principles of Learning and Teaching) Grades K–6 or 7–12 for the grade levels they plan to teach in. Candidates for licensure must demonstrate knowledge of Nevada School Law, the Nevada Constitution, and the United U.S.Constitution. This requirement may be satisfied either through examination or through college/university courses.
Nevada gives a Non-Renewable License (3 years) to novice educators who have certain deficiencies in courses, testing, or student teaching. Once an educator becomes eligible for a Standard License, it is renewable every 5 years. Educators with a minimum of3 years of experience and a graduate degree are eligible for a Professional License, renewable every 6, 8, or 10 years depending on the particular advanced degree. Find out more from the Nevada Department of Education Office of Educator Licensure.
Step 3: Submit a Nevada Teaching Credential Application
Once you have met all of the required obligations, you are ready to apply for Nevada teaching licensure. Use the Application for Educator Licensing. Send the required documents and application fee to one of the following offices of the Nevada Department of Education: Northern Office, 700 East Fifth St., Suite 105, Carson City, NV 89701-5096; or Southern Office, 9890 South Maryland Parkway, Suite 231, Room 23405, Las Vegas, NV 89183.